Sweetwater Speedway

Come Out and Enjoy the Sweetwater Speedway- Wyoming Dwarf Car Shootout
2023 Season Taking Shape
Kirkland wins Rock Springs ASCS Frontier Finale
Come Out and Enjoy the Sweetwater Speedway- Wyoming Dwarf Car Shootout

Come Out and Enjoy the Sweetwater Speedway- Wyoming Dwarf Car Shootout

5/2/2024 -
The Sweetwater Speedway has many exciting events coming up for the 2024 year. The first event is the Wyoming Dwarf Car Shootout! The Sweetwater Speedw
2023 Season Taking Shape

2023 Season Taking Shape

1/6/2023 -
The 2023 racing season is starting to take shape. Racing will begin Memorial Day weekend with the Wyoming Dwarf Car Showdown. This will the the only
Kirkland wins Rock Springs ASCS Frontier Finale

Kirkland wins Rock Springs ASCS Frontier Finale

8/14/2022 -
(Image Credit: Jeff Quinn) ROCK SPRINGS, Wyo. - Trever Kirkland added to his points lead when he won his third ASCS Frontier Region sprint car main ev

Thornhill Captures First Career ASCS Frontier Win At Sweetwater Speedway



Thornhill Captures First Career ASCS Frontier Win At Sweetwater Speedway

(Image Credit: Andrew Kunas)

Bryan Hulbert – ROCK SPRINGS, Wyo. (August 13, 2021) The 41st driver to add their name to the list of winners with the Brodix ASCS Frontier Region, Washington’s Colby Thornhill captured his first victory in ASCS competition Friday night at Wyoming’s Sweetwater Speedway.

Topping the field of 21, Thornhill chased the opening six laps. Two tries on the start, Thornhill was quick into second once the race went to green. Pursuing Trever Kirkland, Colby explored the top of the Rock Springs oval, with the pass coming on Lap 6 off the fourth turn.

Quickly by the No. 37 for second, Logan Forler began chasing the PGH Excavating No. 19. Closing to Colby’s back bumper at the race’s mid-point, the Washington shoe was able to slip by a pair of slower cars to keep Logan at bay.

Able to hold off following a late-race stoppage, Thornhill was chased to the line by Forler, with Trever Kirkland ending up third. Nick Haygood was fourth, with Tyler Driever ending up as the final car on the lap in fifth. Shad Petersen crossed sixth, with Michael Bingham moving up a few spots to finish seventh. Kory Wermling from 15th made it to eighth, with CJ Throne and Mark Chisholm completing the top ten.

The Brodix ASCS Frontier Region is back at Sweetwater Speedway on Saturday, August 14. Tickets are $15 for adults, $5 for Youth (13-17), Seniors, and Military. Kids 12 and under are free. The track is located at 3320 Yellowstone Rd. in Rock Rapids, Wyo. Information on the track is online at http://www.sweetwaterspeedway.com.

The 2021 season is the 30th year of competition for the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by the MAVTV Motorsports Network.

For other news, notes, and information on the American Sprint Car Series, from the National Tour to any of the Regional Tours that make up ASCS Nation in 2021, log onto http://www.ascsracing.com, follow on Facebook, on Instagram, and Twitter (@LucasOilASCS).

Race Results:

ASCS Frontier Region
Sweetwater Speedway (Rock Springs, Wy.)
Friday, August 13, 2021

Car Count: 21

Heat 1: 1. 74U-Chauncey Filler[1]; 2. 1-Nick Haygood[7]; 3. 88-Travis Reber[4]; 4. 86-Zac Taylor[5]; 5. 11-Heath Denney[3]; 6. (DNF) 38-Caleb Crowther[2]; 7. (DNS) 14-Madison Crowther

Heat 2: 1. 2L-Logan Forler[3]; 2. 37-Trever Kirkland[7]; 3. 00B-Mike Bingham[4]; 4. 81-Darren Smith[2]; 5. 56X-Mark Chisholm[5]; 6. 64Z-Preslie Thorne[1]; 7. 2X-Mike Manwill[6]

Heat 3: 1. 19-Colby Thornhill[2]; 2. 77-Damon McCune[1]; 3. 2-Shad Petersen[5]; 4. 33T-Tyler Driever[7]; 5. 14X-CJ Throne[3]; 6. 9K-Kory Wermling[4]; 7. 34-Randy Whitman[6]

A Feature: 1. 19-Colby Thornhill[4]; 2. 2L-Logan Forler[1]; 3. 37-Trever Kirkland[2]; 4. 1-Nick Haygood[3]; 5. 33T-Tyler Driever[6]; 6. 2-Shad Petersen[5]; 7. 00B-Mike Bingham[9]; 8. 9K-Kory Wermling[15]; 9. 77-Damon McCune[7]; 10. 14X-CJ Throne[14]; 11. 81-Darren Smith[11]; 12. 56X-Mark Chisholm[12]; 13. 2X-Mike Manwill[17]; 14. 64Z-Preslie Thorne[16]; 15. 14-Madison Crowther[19]; 16. (DNF) 74U-Chauncey Filler[8]; 17. (DNF) 34-Randy Whitman[18]; 18. (DNF) 86-Zac Taylor[10]; 19. (DNF) 11-Heath Denney[13]; 20. (DNS) 38-Caleb Crowther; 21. (DNS) 88-Travis Reber

Submitted By: Bryan Hulbert

Back to News

Next Event

Driver Registration Buy Tickets!

Latest Photos

Latest Videos

Street Stock Feature | Sweetwater Speedway 9.13.14
Sport Mod #83 Main Event - Sweetwater Speedway

Our Partners

All West Communications
Trona Valley
Burns Towing
Rons Ace Rentals
The Radio Network
Honnen Equipment
Larsen Measurement
Southwest Wyoming Regional Airport
Taco Time
Jimmy Johns
Joes Liquor and Bar
Memorial Hospital of Sweetwater County
Pitt Stop Motorsports
Wyoming Waste Systems
Homax Oil Sales
Genesis Alkali
Motel 8
Premier Bone and Joint
Rocky Mountain Power
Blakcmore Laser
Lead Dog
Les Schwab
Royal Flush
Tire Den
Yeager Auto Body
307 Auto Plaza
Accu Air
State Fire
Tata Chemicals
UPS Store
Infinity Salon
TRL Tools
Equipment Transport
Moon Racing
PC Construction
Pest Patrol
Pit Stop Signs
Stanton Fencing
US Bank
Visionary Broadway
Wyo Movies
Wyo TV